top of page

A break into the dream land


As Moxie closed her eyes to sleep, she felt herself drifting towards an unfamiliar two story building. Reaching the steps, she opened the door and entered. There in the middle of the dusty room, sat two dented metal folding chairs. One laid empty, but the other was occupied by a weathered old man. He slowly looked up at Moxie and then beckoned for her to take the other chair,

“So what is it you want to ask me dear child.”

“What is happening to me?”

“You and your world are coming into being. That are a lot of things that are changing including school which you will be attending in the morning. Though in this time line that you are being written into…you have been attending school for a couple of years.”

“School, what do you mean I have school,” Moxie whined. “I never use to have school and and… it’s not fair.”

“Life is not fair sometimes….”

“What is life and who are you?”

“Who am I and what is life?” the voice chuckled. “Life is what you are experiencing right now and I am your creator- I am your narrator.”

“Narrator, Narrator… I hear reports that that guy is evil. Are you that guy?”

“Narrator evil? Where did you get such reports Moxie?”

“I hear things…”

“From Who?”

“From Antyi-byte and the other guy…”

“The other guy…you don’t mean Malware do you?”

“Yeah… that’s his name….”

“Don’t believe everything those guys tell you. They’re the reason why you have detention for the next week.”

“Which brings me back to my initial question…why do I have to go to school?”

“Education is good for everyone.”

“Uh huh. I was fine before I had it…I could play all day…I could do anything I wanted…”

“And where did that lead you Moxie?”

“What do you mean?”

“Don’t play coy with me little girl. You know what you did to that poor man and this is part of the retribution for you and your friends trouble making ….”

“But it’s not fair…”

“Few things in life are fair….”

“You still haven’t told me what this life thing is….”

“Well moxie it’s becoming more aware of your surroundings, its developing emotions and empathy for others around you. It is the gaining of the understanding of right and wrong. It’s not because someone tells you that right or wrong – but it is something deep inside of you that’s indicates to you that something is wrong to do….”

“You mean like when me and my friends pulled him through that hole. That was an accident, but something told me that I should never have done it….”

“Yeah, that’s what I mean – that thing is called a conscience.”

“Okay, but why do I have to go to school. There is a whole new world out there for me to discover and I can’t do that if I’m stuck in a boring classroom all day.”

“Because part of waking up to this brand-new world includes school….it will help you understand this brave new world.”

“Can my dog Dixie at least go with me?”

“You want your dog going with you too school?”

“Yes”

“Why? You know that dogs don’t go to school….”

“Well if she doesn’t go to school, then I won’t go to school!”

“Fine, Narrator sighed, as he pulled a battered red click pen from his pocket and jotted a couple of noted down on a yellowed memo pad. “Your dog is now enrolled in the same classes you’re in- though her course work will have to be different.”

“Why?”

“Why? You’re asking me why? Aren’t you content with having all these things done for you- why do you need to know why?”

“How am I supposed to learn and grow, like you want me too- if I don’t have the answers to my questions?”

“Okay, you have a point. The reason why your work is different from your dogs is that there are certain things that a dog needs to learn – that a little girl has no use for, This is why you have different course work- but I can arrange it so that you’re in the same class. Now do you have any more questions?”

“Yes, how long does this class thing supposed to last?”

“All day.”

“All day? But I have plans in the afternoon.”

“Plans.” The Narrator laughed. “You’re a little girl, what plans could you have that would be important than attending school?”

“Fixing the problem that caused all of this in the first place.”

Narrator sighed. “Your heart is in the right place Moxie. But there is no undoing this. What is done is done.”

“Well I’m at least going to try. Now I need to leave and get ready for school tomorrow.”

“Moxie wait…. Narrator sputtered…. “Don’t go and make the situation and worse than it already is. But his warning came too late. Moxie had already left the building.”

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page