top of page

Greg and the Bow Wow restaurant


It was a dark and dismal day. Black clouds gathered in the east and Greg knew that the rain was going to start at any minute. This is why he picked up his pace. He was under orders to throw the dishes out the window and Greg wanted to get it done before the rain fell. It was not like Greg didn’t like the rain, nor was he afraid of it. In fact, the opposite was true. Greg didn’t like the rain; he loved the rain. He loved splashing around in it and this is why he wanted to get his work done as soon as possible.

Reaching the restaurant, Greg’s face fell when he saw the endless rows of glass dishes waiting to be disposed of. “How am I ever going to get all of these taken care of before the rain starts?” Greg whined to his boss Max.

Max perked his ears up at the sound of his name. Then with a series of low growls and barks, he replied, “I really don’t know why you keeps throwing those dishes out. I thought I told you before that licking them clean saves the Bow Wow restaurant money, as well as providing our loyal employee’s something to eat.”

“That’s disgusting,” Greg complained. “Licking off plates may be okay for dogs, but it’s not for meant for little frogs.

“Yeah, says who?” Max barked. “From now on, you will have the dishes cleaned to the Bow Wow’s standard.”

“And if I don’t,” Greg fired back.

“Well than you can find yourself another means of employment.” Max growled. Then his voice softened as he added, “Look kid, I really like you, but we can’t keep putting out money on dishes. I don’t care how you clean them, just make sure that it gets done. You can take them out in the rain for all I care, but they need to be cleaned by tomorrow morning or I will be forced to let you go.”

Greg thought for a moment, his green legs twitching thoughtfully underneath him, “Did you say that I could take these dishes outside?”

“Yes, I did,” Max barked. “The rain would rinse the plates off.”

“But how will I get them all out in time” Greg asked. “It will take me all night?”

“Why don’t you ask Selena and Courtney. I’m sure that they would be glad to help. Right now, all their doing is playing Tic Tac Toe with Gizmo and Shorty.”

Upon hearing their names, the four of them stopped their game and came over to Greg and Max. Seeing them approach, Max whispered encouragingly in Greg’s ear. “Ask if they are willing to help.”

“If you would, can you please help me pull all of these dishes outside, so that they can be rinsed in the rain?” Greg asked.

Upon hearing his request, Gizmo barked, “Of course we will help. Though I don’t know why you just can’t lick the plate clean?”

“Because it is disgusting,” Greg explained. “Now can you please help me get these outside, so that I can get these dishes cleaned and not lose my job?”

“Well since you put it that way, how can we refuse.” Selena and Courtney replied in unison.

Together all five of them dragged the dishes outside, where the rain had only started a few minutes before. Greg thanked each of them in turn and then jumped into a giant mudpuddle, splashing water everywhere. Settling down in remaining puddle of water, Greg watched as the dishes began to sparkle and shine underneath the restaurant’s neon sign, as the remnants of food fell away from the glass. Greg smiled and thanked the rain bringer, that he had such an amazing group of friends that he could rely on.

The End.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page